Dinosaur Footprints / Fossils

Hello all!

Im quite new to this platform ( its fantastic by the way!)
I was wondering if it was acceptable and/or useful to upload photographs of dinosaur footprints or fossils, they would be technically flora and fauna of the world just no longer current specimens.

The main problem i see other than people thinking its not relevent is that you would be making the locations of these finds public, which isnt always a good thing.

Thoughts?

Cheers!
Mark

P.S. Sorry if this has been covered before, but when i searched i couldnt find anything relevent.

Observations of non-recent organisms (fossils) are marked by “recent evidence of organism” and thus fall into casual grade. I would personally avoid posting fossil finds because that definitely is a gateway for people to illegally collect them.

That said you are allowed to post them if you want to.

Ah yes that was my concern, its a shame because i would imagine fossil maps would be of great use to certain scientists. Maybe it would be useful in a future itteration of the platform to be able to mark findings as private so the general public cant access the locations of rare species and in this case fossils.

1 Like

It would be cool to have an option to post them under a “fossil” tag and have iNat automatically obscure them the way iNat does for Endangered species.

2 Likes

This is an available option, you can change the geoprivacy of your observations to obscured, which places it in a large rectangle but doesn’t show the true point, or completely private.

1 Like