Disappearing photos

Hi all. Complete newbie here.
Just a quick question, why have a couple of my photos disappeared from my observations.
There is no copyright infringement as they’re my pics.

Can you please link the observations with missing photos? I see all your observations with photos in each.

Hi chrispettifor, welcome! We’ve had a few reports of similar issues recently that we’re investigating. Can you clarify:

1. Which observations are affected?
  2. Are the photos missing from the app, website, or both?

A log file will further help with troubleshooting. To send a log file, go to the Settings tab in the app and tap three times on the version number. You will then have the option to email the log file to help@inaturalist.org. Thanks and sorry for the hassle!

2 Likes

Yea, I’ve had this problem a few times. It normally duplicates the observation and puts the image in one, without any date/location and then the date location go over to their own observation.

It tends to happen when I don’t have service and then the app tries to load the observations over a really weak connection. Of course, I haven’t had this happen since quarantine since I haven’t been going anywhere that would make me lose service. If it happens to me again I will try to send some logs as well. I know there are several Ohio users that this happens to as well (and I can send their usernames to you if you want)

2 Likes

Thanks MaLisa. Please just ask them to send logs immediately if they notice the observation splitting happen again.

Can do. I will send a few of them links to this forum post. I’m not sure how many of them notice it happens.

1 Like

That sounds more like the problem here: https://forum.inaturalist.org/t/android-observation-errors-on-slow-internet/10285/10

2 Likes

As for me it is a Common issue.
When I send pictures via seek, it can happen that the picture can’t be send.
I have seen an error message this morning.