Favorite winter organisms?

What are your favorite taxa to observe in the winter?

I am relatively new to observing nature; I got interested in bees and started using iNat just this summer. Now that the bees aren’t out much anymore where I am, I’m in withdrawal. I’m definitely going to spend time this winter learning more about bees and giving back to the iNat community by using my new bee knowledge to help with IDs, but I want to keep observing, too. I’d especially love to find something for which, like with bees, there are good beginner ID resources. I know iNat has great filters for sorting by season, but I hope some people might be willing to also share their personal experiences and wax poetic about their favorite taxa.

My own context is the suburban/urban Pacific Northwest coast of the United States, and I have access to a camera with a basic telephoto lens. But I would love to hear anyone anywhere describe what and how they like to observe in the winter.

5 Likes

Bullfinch (Pyrrhula pyrrhula) - no competition with that one. It is such a festive bird.

2 Likes

I love observing winter birds, including passerines such as juncos, cardinals, and redpolls, but also waterfowl like ducks.

2 Likes

Winter birding is a lot of fun. Around here we get an influx of extremely cute sparrows that aren’t around the rest of the year, along with sapsuckers, american goldfinches, warblers and waxwings.

3 Likes

I am also a new I-nat user, but to repeat what was said above, putting up bird feeders in the winter has been very rewarding. I also love trying to find what all is still out there in the winter, looking for small bugs and spiders around the house or looking at sheltered places for small plants. Looking for tracks in the snow is very interesting as well.

4 Likes