Finding local community on iNaturalist

I’m new to iNaturalist so please excuse me if I’ve overlooked the answer to this question, though I’ve searched. I would like to follow people in my geographical region. This would help me immensely, affording me a practical way of seeing who and what is going on around me. Is there a way to find other iNaturalist users in my area? Ideally, I would like to sort by state or region and get a listing of iNaturalist users in that area, including a link to their profile and the ability to follow them.

Thanks for your help in advance. It’s much appreciated.
Doug

4 Likes

Here are some of the prolific observers that appear to be in your area Observations · iNaturalist

Welcome to iNat! I think the easiest way to approach this is to use the Explore function on the website, enter your area of choice under location (e.g. county, state), and check out the “observers” and “identifiers” tabs for those who are most active in those areas. You can click on their names to get to their profiles and follow them.

8 Likes

Hi Doug! Welcome to the iNaturalist community! @billhubick has put together a really good page on Maryland Biodiversity that includes field trips:
https://www.marylandbiodiversity.com/

Lots of those folks utilize iNaturalist in the field trips too, it seems.

5 Likes