Globally threatened to exist separately from regionally threatened

Sometimes I search through iNaturalist to see what threatened species have been observed around the world

What I have realised is that if a species is only threatened in a region but otherwise common, for example house sparrows are critically endangered in Denver, it would still show up

Would the search tags benefit if the “threatened” box was split into “globally threatened” and “regionally threatened”?

3 Likes

Hi @Fahoodie1852

Your idea is very thoughtful, and as a conservation biologist, I can tell you that distinguishing between globally threatened and regionally/locally threatened is of utmost importance (and this is something I’m doing research on).

However, for the iNat purposes, it can’t be implemented in the present moment, although it would be very worth it. Let me explain.

iNaturalist uses the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species, which has set a global standard for assessing the conservation status of any species in the world (not without its faults - a different discussion)

The problem is that the extinction risk assessment is for the species as whole, based on criteria that are mostly related to population size, population declines, and small geographic range. You can check the Redlist criteria summary sheet here:
https://www.iucnredlist.org/resources/summary-sheet

So, a species does not have to be under threat in every place it is distributed. In fact, most globally threatened species can be faring well in some places. There are also many species that are regionally/locally threatened but do surpass the thresholds for globally threatened categories according to the IUCN.

The key thing is that the IUCN does not provide a spatial zonification of where the species is doing poorly, vs where is doing well. This is what is need for your tagging system to work. But in the present moment, it cannot be implement.