Has anyone used inat data to determine the level of difficulty to ID a given species?

I was thinking it might be interesting to review observations of a given taxa, in my case fungi, and create an identification difficulty rating for a given species by comparing the data for observations of that species such as how many reach research grade vs not, how many different id’s were suggested, how often was the first guess correct, etc.

Seems like something that would have been done before, so thought I would ask before I spend time poking at it.

9 Likes

Very interesting. You can get an intuitive feel for this by watching every observation uploaded from an area for a few years (I’ve been doing that with Mississippi for about two years). I’ve never thought of quantifying it. I would think “how likely the first ID is correct” would be the most useful of the metrics you mentioned. The number of conflicting identifications is another interesting metric, though I’m not sure it measures the underlying phenomenon as effectively.

1 Like

Agreed, there are many species I know just from watching which are easy and which are not, but there are lots of borderline that I would love to tease out statistically.

you could sort of expand on the effort here: https://forum.inaturalist.org/t/what-things-are-misidentified-as-large-milkweed-bug/12571. instead of just showing how many identifications end up at other taxa, you could also incorporate the number of identifications that end up at the taxon of interest (and maybe at something higher than species).

this approach may be of limited value at a species level because there are many taxa that end up at higher-than-species ranks whether due to disagreements or due to situations where it’s hard to determine what the species is. however, it can be useful at higher levels: https://forum.inaturalist.org/t/recruiting-more-identifiers/2388/294.