How do I find feathers

sometimes you want more feathers for your collection but you don’t know where to find them any advice?

I am no expert on finding feathers however, I know a thing or two that may help you to find feathers. First off, you should look in areas that have a high density of birds, like a local woods, with a healthy bird population, because you won’t find feathers where you won’t find birds. Second, you can look for feathers when birds are commonly losing them. Usually, birds will molt in early Spring or in late Fall, however it depends on the bird species, and location, so research when species of birds in your area molt, to get a better idea. Lastly, you can look for feathers in areas that birds spend a lot of time. For example, if a lot of birds hang out in a specific tree, they probably do a lot of things there like preen themselves, which is commonly when birds lose feathers. Hopefully these tips help you find feathers!

1 Like

Old nests can be a good place for feathers, depending on the bird.

For inspiration, here are all the observations on iNaturalist with the observation field “Animal Sign and Song” set to “Fur/Feathers”: https://www.inaturalist.org/observations?place_id=any&taxon_id=3&field:Animal%20sign%20and%20song=Fur%2FFeathers

2 Likes

Check the laws in your area. In the US, all migratory birds are protected. There are exceptions for a few commonly hunted species, but for everything else, you can’t own any part of the bird. Even loose feathers, since there’s no way for them to tell if the feather was shed naturally or pulled from a dead bird.

If you’re in the US, try looking at zoos and aviaries for nonnative bird feathers. If you aren’t in the US, make sure you know what birds are protected, and what feathers you’re allowed to have.

9 Likes