How do I get ID confirmed?

I submit an Observation. BUT, nothing really happens. My observation is not research grade because nobody notices.

I am an engineer/geophysicist by trade… now I am retired.

I want to be a part of this global project… iNaturalist. But how do I do it?

1 Like

Can you please share a link to the observation so folks can look at it to see if potentially there is any kind of issue.

Sometimes the answer is simply patience to wait for folks to review it. It is also highly dependant upon what and where it is. North American records get looked at quicker and by more folks, since the 3 largest national communities on the site are in order the US, Canada and Mexico.

Different families also have different rates of being successfully identified, things like birds, mammals, reptiles, ‘charismatic’ insects have rates that can be 90% or higher. A much lower percent of plants and fungi get identified.

I tried to look up your account on the website, but could not find it, so perhaps you are using a different name on the forum here than on the app/site ?

1 Like

MAJUSARET is my user name on iNaturalist

Can you post a link to one of your observations?

https://www.inaturalist.org/observations/30755078

I think you need to use the dashes in your user name for people to find you. maj-usa-ret
Some of your observations are research grade so they have been identified by others.
Arrowhead Flatworm is missing a location.
For the others, it is mostly a matter of when someone who knows those species is doing identifications.
Sometimes it is quite a while before that happens with some species.
Welcome to iNat.

2 Likes