How do I remove an initial ID if I've made the wrong choice from the ID list?

With only 18 observations, I’m still learning iNat. I added an observation with three photos of galls on pin oak leaves. I hoped to learn the identity of the gall wasp, but I mistakenly chose pin oak for the ID. It was accurate but not what I intended. I went to the Edit option hoping I could delete and start over, but the only option I found was to withdraw the observation. I did that but wasn’t comfortable doing so, and it asked me to explain why. I re-evaluated and restored the original ID – the photos do in fact show pin oak. But I would still like the gall ID. In this case, should I add the gall photos again as a new observation? My apologies if I’ve overlooked something obvious.

3 Likes

If you know what you actually wanted to pick, just add it as a new ID and that will withdraw your initial one.

4 Likes

You can either add a right id, your first one will be overwritten, or withdraw your id - it’s ok, or delete it - option is there too in edit>delete.

4 Likes

You can definitely upload the same photo twice, once for the oak and once for the gall.

7 Likes

I think others have answered your question here, but I just wanted to say…

I used to hate having the “black mark” of withdrawn observations attached to my name, but I’ve made so many mistakes that I’m used to it now, and seen others make mistakes as well. I don’t think there is any flat-out delete option, but there is nothing wrong with withdrawing, or replacing with another ID (which automatically withdraws).