How do you photograph?

Hi,

I’m curious, what do you use to take your photos for iNaturalist? Your mobile? A professional camera? A little pocket camera? Something else?

I’m relatively new to iNaturalist and have been using my phone (Huawei P8) to take my photos. For the most part I’m happy using it, but I’ve been considering buying a proper camera, as long distance or macro shots turn out quite unclear. In turn, they are a) less pretty and b) less clear for identification purposes. So I’m pondering whether a camera would be worthwhile. But mostly, it’s gotten me curious what other users are using!

1 Like

I use my phone when I’m at work or just casually looking around. Usually I’m using my Nikon D500 with one of three lenses: 150-600mm for wildlife and distance shots, 90mm macro for small plants and insects, or 16-80mm for everything else.

I tend to focus on Macro shots. There is a lense for some iphone models that allows for very good macro shots, but usually I just use a small nikon camera I got from my uncle. If it doesn’t need macro, like for a large bird or a tree, I would just use my iphone 6.
If you look at some of my obs you will see how it turns out.
I wish you luck in your Inat journey.

If you’re looking for macro shots + relatively cheap camera, you cannot go past the Olympus TG-5 Tough. $500, fits in your pocket, shockproof and waterproof down to 15m.
The best part, however, is that it has a microscope mode (can take photos down to 1cm focal length), as well as focus stacking mode for even better clarity/field of depth. Best investment I’ve made.

3 Likes

Depends on your goal. I exclusively use smartphones (home and work one) but I’m primarily interested in plants and am more interested in the photo voucher/verification aspect than aesthetics. If you’re interested in birds or highly mobile insects you will get a lot more via a nicer camera.

Awesome, thank you! I will have to look at saving up for one. Under water shots would be amazing to have.