What camera should I buy?

Hello I take animal and plant photos regularly for Inaturalist and so far I have always used my phone. My phone camera is good and it works completely fine for most insect, plant, reptile and fungi photos (basically anything that is small and harmless that I can get up close and take photos of) but most mammals and birds quickly fly away or run away and I can’t get close to them so I end up with lots of blurry zoomed in photos that are terrible. I am looking for a cheap easy to use camera that is also small. Do you guys have any suggestions?
I am still fairly new to the inat forum and I am not sure if its okay to make this kind of post under the general tab or if its acceptable to post this here at all. Please let me know if its okay to post this here.

4 Likes

(I’ve moved this topic to ‘Nature Talk’ for you)

2 Likes

I think there are quite a few threads about this and one frequently lauded model that has made me now really target my used camera searches is the Olympus TG-6 (or TG-5, very close). Small, waterproof, and even a ‘microscopic’ mode with built in image stacking. New, they’re a bit out of my $ range, but used (kinda rare) are pretty close (say 2-300).

I am finding that the bulk of my stuff is macro now and while my phone does pretty well, even with a good clip on, I’m not getting stuff like, say this:
https://www.flickr.com/photos/162931725@N08/albums/72157709545430657/with/48409441121/

3 Likes

depends on your budget.

Olympus TG is good for whatever your phone does, with better image quality and lighting. Older models like TG4 might well be worth considering, for much lower price.

if you are adding birds and other wildlife to your list then there isn’t a camera that will do both ends well without being expensive and bulky.

bridge cameras are fairly compact, can do tele end well, macro end adequately. DSLR and mirrorless cameras do both ends with appropriate lens, but that can get expensive quickly, and more bulky.