How to take photos underwater?

I am an amateur observer and I don’t have a professional camera I only have my phone and I during the summer I plan on going to a place where I can make lots of cool underwater observations at the beach but even though my phone is technically waterproof but I don’t want to take the risk and put my phone underwater. Is there any way for me to take photos underwater with a case or waterproof pouch? Do you recommend any products?

This is my first ever forum post. If this is the wrong place to post such a question I am really sorry.

6 Likes

Welcome to the forum!
There are waterproof phone cases for snorkeling. I can’t personally recommend any particular one, but a quick Amazon check came up with several choices. Sounds like fun,will look forward to seeing what you come up with.

1 Like

I’ve been thinking about options for underwater photography also but haven’t really researched it. Not sure I want to risk my smartphone or SLR camera for this purpose, but maybe there are underwater cameras out there that won’t break my budget. Any advice would be welcome.

I recall using an inexpensive underwater film camera in Hawaii many years ago before digital came along. Might still have those prints somewhere.

1 Like

https://forum.inaturalist.org/t/underwater-photography-equipment/30468/12

4 Likes

I would recommend taking a look at the Olympus TG6. It is a small underwater camera that does not require a case, and it will not break the bank like a mirrorless or dslr. Many divers and snorkelers I know are using it with great results.

11 Likes

Agree. TG cameras are good for underwater. I tried my TG5 out in sea water. Worked fine. But you always need to check whether all covers are trully locked. And wash the camera carefully afterwards, following instructions.

2 Likes