iNat newbie here with historical roadkill data

I am beginning to enter data, from paper notebooks, of roadkilled birds collected over several years beginning in 1980. What’s the best way to enter these? Do I choose the old protocol from the dropdown, and add fields for sex and dead/alive? I understand none of these are research grade because there are no photos, correct? Some of these were discarded, and some donated to a museum and some to a nature center, and I’m assuming that all goes in the Notes section. I’m good with tedious accurate data entry, but just want to start out the best I can with making this data useful. Thanks!

7 Likes

You choose to upload observations without photos, they will be casual, otherwise it’s the same as if you’d upload a new observation, you can add annotations and observation fields (there’re several for dead and roadkills) and even add those observations in roadkill projects. If you’d be able in the future to relocate donated remains you could add pics of them to observations or if they have some museum serial code you could add it too as observation field.

6 Likes

Yeah, it looks like you’ve got it. I’m not sure about adding fields - you could enter the observation, then add the annotations. A little more time consuming. Perhaps others are more informed about that than me. Also, check under Projects to see if there are any about road-kill (although I often find it hard to search projects). If there are none, you may consider setting one up yourself.
EDIT - I see @fffffffff has already mentioned projects.

3 Likes