iNaturalist jargon, etc

i wonder if anyone has come across or developed any interesting language while using iNaturalist? for example, some of the folks in my area seem to be using the verb “iNaturalize”, as in “i don’t know what that is. let’s iNaturalize it.” or “oh, such a pretty insect! i’m going to iNaturalize it.”

i wonder if there are any interesting abbreviations or shorthand (including emojis) that people use that are particularly intuitive or effective? for example, someone used “cf” in a comment on one of my observations the other day, as in “cf Andrena miserabilis” to suggest a possible species even though he had officially identified it at genus. not being a scientist, i had to look that up. so i wonder if there’s an even more intuitive substitute for “cf”?

i’m just thinking that if there’s any particularly effective jargon or such, i want to start spreading it during this next City Nature Challenge.

2 Likes

I usually just say “iNat it!” Rolls off the tongue better. :)

Can’t really think of many other shorthands other than:
Also “obs” = observation
DQA = Data Quality Assessment section
TFR = Taxon Framework Relationship (niche tool curators can use)

7 Likes

I remember having to figure out what the Identify Modal is (the popup window you get from clicking on an observation in https://www.inaturalist.org/observations/identify).

Edit: also RG = research grade
CID = community ID

6 Likes

@pisum, a substitute English term for “cf” would basically be “compare with/to”.