iNaturalist on Mastodon

Wondering if there are plans for an official iNaturalist presence on Mastodon, and if there are other iNatters who are on that site.

13 Likes

Hi, welcome to the forum. This was the reply from iNat staff given in a similar thread:

7 Likes

I’m mostly using @dsacer@fediscience.org now

3 Likes

I joined mastodon but haven’t really figured out how it works yet. If there’s ever an inat-centric server I’ll probably join it, but I’m generally not very active in social media except iNat itself.

4 Likes

I’m colinpurrington@flipping.rocks (https://flipping.rocks/web/@colinpurrington).

3 Likes

I have been posting #clamfacts there for ~4 years! I’m https://scicomm.xyz/@dantheclamman. There has always been a community of naturalists there, so it would be great to have iNaturalist there. There are a bunch of people looking into more efficient ways to host servers, such as via Raspberry Pi arrays, so maybe iNaturalist could set up their own hosted solution, for not much dough.

10 Likes

https://scicomm.xyz/about says:

Registrations are closed for the time being so that we can better manage the recent intake of new accounts. Check back soon or register on another instance and migrate your account once we re-open :) Thanks for your patience!

So I suppose as tiwane said in the Twitter thread - right now is not a good time to join. At least not that server…

4 Likes

Too bad actual mastodons are extinct or you could post a mastodon on iNat on Mastodon.

15 Likes

I found some pieces of mastodon teeth in Texas a few years ago, but I think iNat generally frowns on fossil evidence, so I never bothered to post them.

7 Likes