Infraspecific taxa in botany

Hi
I’m an amateur naturalist and I’m confused, so sorry if my questions aren’t very clear.

I’m trying to learn about botany and I have two questions about infraspecific taxa.

First: A genus has species and then some species have subspecies.
If there are subspecies does that mean that all species belong to one of the subspecies or can some be identified on species level and others on subspecies level?

Is a species level identification still correct if there are subspecies?

Second: Plants of the World is the go to source for plant names, but I don’t really know what to do with some of the search results I get.

They vary:
“This is a synonym of …” is clear.
“This subspecies is accepted” is clear.
“No results” is not clear. Does this mean the subspecies is not recognized or does it simply mean that it hasn’t been added to the database yet?

Thanks for any clarifications!

3 Likes

Absolutely, many subspecies, not just in plants require extremely specific and detailed keys to separate them.In some cases, subspecies have relatively well defined geographic ranges, but identifying observations to the subspecies level solely on geography is a thorny question. Just because something has accepted subspecies does not mean you should feel obligated to ID at that level if you are not comfortable doing so, a species level ID is still 100% valid and correct.

It could be either, there is no real means to tell.

5 Likes

You can think about your first question in the same way as you might be able to identify a plant to genus, but are unable to identify its species within that genus. Providing your genus-level ID is entirely appropriate. Similarly, if you can identify to species but not subspecies, providing your species-level identification is perfectly fine.

4 Likes