Genus species + species?

I’m still learning about binomial nomenclature rules, but what confuses me is some observations ID’s that suggest the same genus with the same species, but an additional species name that is a duplicate. Is this meant to dictate subspecies? I have attached an example.

1 Like

Correct - the second “tympanum” in this case indicates the subspecies.

9 Likes

At least in zoology, there is the Code article - https://code.iczn.org/species-group-nominal-taxa-and-their-names/article-47-nominotypical-taxa/:

When a species is considered to contain subspecies, the subspecies that contains the name-bearing type of the nominal species is denoted by the same species-group name as the species, with the same author and date [Art. 46.1]; this subspecies is termed the nominotypical subspecies.

4 Likes

Technically there should not be duplication of common names as you see here, so that also adds to the confusion.

1 Like

That’s… very interesting.

In my understanding, would this be a situation where a species has diverge away far enough in locality to consider having split into two subspecies, but also at the same time the distance is too close have any big significant changes to consider giving it a unique subspecies name?

I read a little more. I think my initial understanding is wrong. So the nominotypical species gets the double name because… it’s the original described population?

1 Like

Should we flag the taxon when we see the same common name for species and subspecies? What is the expected solution? Adding “typical” or “common”, e.g. Typical Southern Water Skink?

Yeah these should be flagged, although it’s a little controversial. We shouldn’t come up with our own names, but it’s OK for certain taxa to not have common names. The trick is figuring out where the name is best applied. I think usually the species, but it’s obviously case dependent.

3 Likes