Long term student engagement with iNaturalist (what students do after the class is over)

I have posted a few times in the educator section of the forums because I use iNaturalist in my classroom. In fact, I use iNaturalist as a centerpiece for the course tying assignments and projects to the course using iNat. I have been using it since the fall of 2016 and while I have changed my approach a few times, the overwhelming feedback from students has been very positive.

One of the things I had not considered until recently was the impact of the use of iNaturalist on students after they left my course. Fortunately, I still have all of my student data and their usernames here in iNaturalist and I began to explore how many students were still using iNaturalist (as measured by adding observations) after the course was over. I was surprised at the results.

I took the pool of students from each semester and I looked at what percentage of students were still adding observations (at least 1) 1 year, 2 years, 3 years, etc… after the end of the course. In the case of my 2016 Fall class I have 5 years worth of data while my 2021 fall and spring classes only have 1 year of data. Below is a graph of the results.

In the first year after the course was over an average of 31.5% of students were still adding observations to iNaturalist with 21.5% participation 2 years later, 18.6% participating 3 years later and 13.2% still adding observations 4 years after they are no longer required to do so. I do have one data point for 5 years (17.6%).

I’m doing a more thorough analysis of student engagement as measured by this activity but I thought I would share it here because I haven’t seen this kind of information before. As a teacher I sometimes walk away from a semester thinking that I didn’t have as big an impact as I wanted and can get discouraged if it has been a tough semester but this data tells me that students are still getting it and being affected by this kind of engagement.