One time bulk download dataset

Hi,

My name is Norman and I’m a university researcher working on a computer vision research project. I’d like to collect a dataset from iNaturalist photos. I’ve read the API documentation and tried using GBIF as suggested to download the data I need, however that only gives urls to the photos. It looks like downloading those images in bulk is also subject to rate limits like the RESTful API, as my access was cut off after a little while.

I have a list of all the observation ids and urls that I would like to download. Are there any alternatives for me to retrieve these images or should I just download the images one by one at the API limit rate?

Thanks,
Norman

1 Like

Hello and welcome!

There isn’t currently a process for automated bulk download of images. Among other issues, it’s a big burden on the servers.
I’d suggest using the API as you have been. There are others on the Forums who are quite skilled in using the API, so if you feel on sharing details of your process they may be able to make the process more efficient.

1 Like

Thanks! Since I’m not querying the API directly is the rate limit any higher? Here is the script I’m currently using to download 1 photo/sec for 10k/day:

import os
import pickle
import requests
import shutil
import sys
import time

def download(url, name):
    print(name)
    with requests.get(url, stream=True) as r:
        if r.status_code != 200:
            print('{} error: {}'.format(r.status_code, url), file=sys.stderr)
            return
        r.raw.decode_content = True
        with open('./ducks/{}.jpg'.format(name), 'wb') as f:
            shutil.copyfileobj(r.raw, f)

def main():
    os.makedirs('ducks', exist_ok=True)
    present = set([x.replace('.jpg', '') for x in os.listdir('ducks')])

with open('duck_urls', 'rb') as f:
        urls = pickle.load(f)

ctr = 0
    for url in urls:
        if ctr > 10000:
            return
        name = os.path.normpath(url).split(os.path.sep)[-2]