Preferred ways of batch downloading a subset of the iNaturalist data?

Dear iNaturalist people,

I am a researcher at the University of Cambridge. I am actually a particle physicist, not a naturalist, but for reasons I won’t go into (unless you want to hear them!) I would very much like to make a dataset (to be used used for research not commercial purposes) consisting of:

• all images iNaturalist has of gastropods, (provided the image licenses would allow me to use these image for academic purposes), together with (ideally)

• the taxonomy metadata data associated with the species shown in the image, and

• any common name or image title that happens to be associated with the image, if there is one.

Rather than attempt to scrape this content from the iNaturalist website, I thought I should write to the site first, to see if there are preferred ways of doing a bulk download or bulk downloads. I only wrote to the site ~24 hours ago, so there is no reason I should have received a reply yet, but I also wrote to a fairly generic “help@iNaturalist.org” address that may get lots of spam, so I’m re-posting here in case the last place I wrote was not the best destination.

Does anyone on this forum know if there are preferred ways of doing bulk downloads? Or whom on the site I should write to to get a human?

[ Although I only want gastropod pictures, if it were easier from the point of view of the people administering the site, I would not object to downloading everything and then writing some scripts to extract the gastropods from within it – say. Though I presume there are better ways … ]

Christopher

After posting I’ve just found this: https://pypi.org/project/pyinaturalist/

Evidently it can upload images, but I don’t (yet) see how to use it to download images. It does have access to some taxonomy information.

Hi, welcome to the Forum!