Phone camera - colours of plants not accurate

When taking photos of plants on my phone in particular flowers… the light or camera itself will take a picture that differs in colour from real life.
This is making ID later on challenging and makes poor reference when I am learning.
What solutions are there to stop this happening?
I am a bit new to photography.

If it differs greatly, the issue may be that settings on your phone camera got set to something weird accidentally. It’s worth checking.

I am not even sure what settings too look at … I’ve been debating getting a professional camera but perhaps I need a class on phone cameras too… for instance a flower that is blue is coming out purple :Shttps://www.inaturalist.org/observations/142586989

ok so when I look at the picture on my laptop it is acurate… blue.
but on my phone same picture looks purple

1 Like

Every phone is different which is why I can’t give you more specific tips. You certainly aren’t alone! I had a month where I accidentally swapped some setting on my phone’s camera and was so frustrated that it would no longer focus for closer shots until I figured out what I had done.

In the photo you shared, it may be a product of lighting rather than camera settings. Oftentimes, I stand over the flower I’m photographing so that it is in my shadow reducing the glare of the sun on bright days.

1 Like

Even a camera with slide film or the best digital camera will have problems with colour. Especially if over or underexposed. The best is to get one of the small colour chart folders available from some camera shops and take the plant with it. It will also serve as a scale. It is easily corrected on the phone or better with a good program.

3 Likes