Photo colour balance changed when uploaded

Hope I have the right topic here in the forums for this post. This is my first time posting in the forum so please direct me elsewhere if I’m off course.

My question is this: I just uploaded a photo of a spore print and noticed that the colour balance/temperature of the photo (sorry I’m a very amateur photographer and I’m not sure what the correct term is) has changed. My original file has an evident orange colour to the spore print, which is consistent with the print when I look at them in person. Once uploaded however, the temperature of the photo seems to be a lot cooler and the print looks hardly appears orange at all. Obviously this is a problem because the colour of the spores is important to identify some species of fungi.

Anyone know what might be the case here?

Did you take the photo on a cell phone camera or a stand-alone camera?

Does the color look off in the camera’s own memory/gallery?

Have you viewed the observation on multiple displays (eg. computer monitor vs cell phone) and if so, is the color wrong on all of them or just a particular monitor?

1 Like

iNat compresses images over a certain size. It’s possible that what you’re seeing is a result of said compression.

1 Like

it’s a stand-alone DSLR camera. Unfortunately I already cleared the memory and can’t upload a photo back onto the camera so can’t be sure. However, I did compare the original file and the file uploaded to inat and found the same change in temperature. I also used the paint program to select the same exact pixel from both files and blew them up to compare the colour difference and the original is noticeably more orange in hue. I ultimately, as earthknight sugests, it is a result of the compression the image undergoes when uploaded to inat.

I think you’re right unfortunately.

I’m not sure how compression works but maybe try resizing the photo before upload if you haven’t already?

1 Like