Posting observations without photo

Is it at all worth while to post observations that are not “backed up” by a photo or audio recording? I’ve been birding for over 4 decades and have over 30,000 records from all 50 states and much of Canada. Prior to the late 1990s, I have almost no photo “evidence” to back up these sightings. I certainly wouldn’t attempt to put all of them on iNaturalist, but some worthwhile sightings - unusual or Life Birds - might be possible. Like the Broad-billed Sandpiper at Jamaica Bay NWR, NY , Sep 1, 1998 that I drove 700 miles to see. Or the Kelp Gull at the Sea Breeze Inn, Sandgates, MD the I drove 1100+ miles in a day and a half. Did get a photo of that one as he posed on the pier. But many observations have no photo, mainly do to a)Lack of telephoto lens and b) light and weather conditions. The later was usually the case for many seabirds that resulted in blurred or missed photos - if attempted at all. So, is it worth posting , what I would call, significant sightings, if there’s no photo or ?

2 Likes

Yes by all means, post as many of these as you like. I have 85 such records myself (https://www.inaturalist.org/observations?place_id=any&quality_grade=casual&user_id=thebeachcomber&verifiable=any&photos=false), mostly species that were lifers at the time for me or I wanted them for a particular site (e.g. my yard list) but I either didn’t have my camera or missed the shot. The benefit of adding these is that they’ll contribute to your life list

2 Likes

Of course add them if you want. I’ve got 20k of them and still add some. Before you start, are they in eBird?

If they are you can with a little IT knowledge export your ebird history and then import it back into inat.

2 Likes