Question about response time for IDs

Wondering about observation id response time. Noticing that posts aren’t being id-ed as fast or not at all? Is that normal? To be expected on less than exciting observations?
Thanks in advance, Zeldalola from Frisco, Texas

edited to add: I’m putting in as much information to my observations as I can but I’m an amateur poster.

Also, part of the fun is getting confirmations or any response at all. It decreases motivation if observations go un confirmed or anything for a long time? (not a complaint. Just seeking info.)

4 Likes

It depends on place, taxon, amount of other unided observations, some groups are hardly ided by photos, some just lack experts on iNat. There’s always a bunch (more observations you have bigger bunch is) of non-RG observations you have, they still matter.

14 Likes

Ditto to what Melodi stated. Things like birds tend to get identified pretty quickly as there are a lot of birders on here checking the records. In comparison, plants take much longer to be confirmed given they make up the bulk of many records. And then photo quality makes a difference (blurry birds will still take a long time to get confirmed).

So it all depends. I have some things that get confirmed in seconds and others that are hanging out at order level IDs for years because of some of the reasons mentioned above.

11 Likes

Response time varies a lot. Some observations, like those of many charismatic animals, are often IDed nearly immediately. Some may never get IDed to species. This often has nothing to do with the quality of the observation but has more to do with a lack of available expertise and/or how stretched the identifiers are that would see you’re photos.