Question on identities

Only just discovered this App and can I say first what a great thing it is.
I think I read that it does use your location to help with id’s? My question is around this, I’m in the UK so I’m seeing a European Magpie regularly, and obviously I know what it is but I would like to add to my observations, but I can’t get an id other than Australian Magpie. So is there a way to point the app towards UK species or to add my own identification? Have a similar thing with a Pied Wagtail which is continually noted as White Wagtail which it could be if in continental Europe

The app normally does take location into account and is very good at it in my experience.

I tried looking up European Magpie as a species, and it doesn’t seem to exist in in naturalist. Is it possible that European Magpie is a local name that isn’t include in the database?

I’m no expert on European birds, but i googled European Magpie and the Eurasian magpie, Pica pica, came up. This species is indeed in iNat under Eurasian Magpie. Could you mean Pica pica? (I have to make my way to europe one day, i love it’s blue wings. They are easy to find?). In any case, using common names can sometimes cause trouble, especially if they are not in the database.

For the pied wagtail, according to the iNat taxon it’s a subspecies of the White Wagtail. Again, i’m no European bird expert so i can’t confirm anything, but the Rsbp gives the Pied wagtail the scientific name Motacilla alba, which is listed as the ‘white wagtail’ on iNat, whereas the Pied Wagtail is a subspecies, Motacilla alba yarrellii.

In general, if you know the proper name of a species, input that. If you have trouble and don’t know the proper name, google the name you do know and try to find out the proper name. Scientific names exist to avoid exactly this kind of confusion, so rely on them wherever possible.

5 Likes