Question on the Periodical Cicadas

Hi there! I just recently got into invertebrates last August, which was a pretty bad time to, as up here in the Northeast it was the end of the season for Periodical Cicadas, which, as most of you know, are a once-in-a-blue-moon kinda deal. I did, however, read that sometimes there are a few dozen that stray behind and accidentally emerge a year late, but is that true? I’m really hoping that it is, so that I might get a chance to find one this month, since if they would emerge, it’d be in May! I’m still learning about Cicadas so if I’m wrong or something I’d love to know. It’d suck to wait another decade and a half, lol.

2 Likes

Hey!.. i also happen to be interested in cicadas, but the ones on the other side of the world. (new zealand) so take what i say with a grain of salt as i to am no expert, especially when it comes to north american cicadas! i did a quick search of the broad north eastern us and found that allot of the species as you say may be a months or even a year late. however it does seem very rare. personally i would suggest looking for the other species as this may be even more rewarding! given in my opinion finding a rare cicada would be better then finding one that is very common every decade and a half. as i say i dont particularly know about the usa but in nz we have a bunch of cicadas that haven’t ever been observed on inat. here is the search for species i did and it appears there are some rarer ones out at this time of year! https://www.inaturalist.org/observations?nelat=49.91415879100512&nelng=-36.355071901207666&place_id=any&subview=map&swlat=31.828652113862884&swlng=-98.97714221370767&taxon_id=50190&view=species

i hope this helped…

2 Likes

Most of these are not out this time of year, a good number of them are Periodical (will not be out), and most are in the Southern US.
Only 7 of these are in the NE.