Replicating geoprivacy polygons in GIS

Greetings! I am a biologist working with iNaturalist data to plan future field surveys. Any ideas on how to replicate the geoprivacy polygons to accurately display uncertainty in locations? For example, the accuracy on a certain observation may be listed as 27 km. However, when I download data from GBIF and then plot a 27 km buffer around that point, the circle is much larger than the polygon displayed in iNat.

So I guess a second question is: what does the accuracy “tag” actually mean? When I measure it out the polygons visualized on an individual observation, it seems like a ~15km x 20 km rectangle, so perhaps that accuracy is the diagonal of the polygon (25 km). If this is indeed the case, how to best recreate/visualize that information?

Perhaps a circular buffer with a 15km radius will do a decent approximation… still, that’s not quite the same as the random point is not the center of that 15kmx20km polygon… Open to any and all ideas!

Cheers!

1 Like

Welcome to the Forum @wild_ecology!

Obscuration on iNaturalist uses the 0.2 x 0.2 degree grid “rectangle” that contains the true location of the observation. The east-west dimension of this grid of course varies with latitude. So coming up with a single radial distance to use may not get you what you are looking for.

I think the accuracy distance of obscured observations is based on the diagonal of the grid rectangle that was applied, this being the farthest possible distance from the displayed (obscured) point location to the actual point location for that observation. That distance will vary from about 22 km at the poles to about 31 km at the equator.

Probably the best and most accurate way to visualize the information outside of iNaturalist is - you guessed it - replicating the 0.2 x 0.2 degree grid “rectangle” for each observation.