Rubrics used in your classroom

I would like to see if anyone would be willing to share any rubrics they may use with inaturalist in their classroom. I think there is so much potential with this website/app combo but want to ensure that it is more than just students going out, taking a picture, and letting the technology do everything else and they call it a day.

Please review this guide before integrating inaturalist into your classroom. Its an amazing tool for education, but its important to go about it properly

https://www.inaturalist.org/pages/teacher%2527s%252Bguide

5 Likes

I am a teacher, this would be a great reference tool for students to use. It is also a community of naturalists who share a wide range of expertise and knowledge. But, I am not sure how you would use this website and app as an assessment of and for learning with rubrics. What curriculum connections and assessment tools would you be referring to?

BTW, you are right, it is much more than just posting pictures and waiting for the algorithm to determine the identification. I spend a lot of time cross-referencing with field guides, and other internet resources, asking for and sharing identification with those passionate enough on iNat to offer their expertise. It’s an awesome learning platform. It is also a great tool for data collection, mapping, learning about taxonomy, biodiversity, nonnative and invasive species etc. But, as far as I know, I think you would have to create curriculum connections yourself including your own, lesson plans, assessments and rubrics. Good luck with this. Maybe there are other teachers on iNat that might be able to help you.

1 Like