Should Wikipedia be used as a qualified resource for iNaturalist?

I ask because in Wikipedia, frequently I come across statements or entire sections flagged for “citation needed.” One example is the “Source: Wikipedia” attached to Bloodroot Sanguinaria canadensis at https://inaturalist.ca/taxa/51044-Sanguinaria-canadensis.

As a researcher, I find this to be a bright red flag for unreliable content. When I was training in university, my thesis prof advised me that using Wikipedia’s sources was fine but not using Wikipedia itself. When researching plants and birds for iNaturalist, I find there are government and university sites available for verification and description purposes. Generally, these have photos, range maps, and scientific descriptions. Should not these be used as sources instead of Wikipedia?

4 Likes

I think the nice thing about Wikipedia is that it is another Wiki project similar to iNaturalist. Anyone can contribute, and it is a website that can potentially have an article about every species on earth. Government websites aren’t going to have that kind of capability, and so Wikipedia is naturally going to be the easiest source to sync up to iNaturalist. I appreciate that iNaturalist often has other links to other sources on the side, such as to the IUCN or to EOL. I think removing Wikipedia would take away more good information than it would wrong information. What we do need to emphasize is reading Wikipedia with critical eyes that are always looking for citations.

22 Likes

Wikipedia is a default if there is no info for the About tab on iNat. There are links to other sources there too. Wikipedia is a starting point.

A few iNatters work at updating Wikipedia.

6 Likes

Just to showcase the other links on the side of the about page.

6 Likes

Of course, it should not be taken as pure gold but an educator should evaluate a content with critical spirit before using for education.

3 Likes