Starting a summer project for HS Students

Hello, I will be teaching a summer HS program for Upward Bound students in North Central Florida and am looking to connect with instructors and researchers who have prior experience using iNaturalist and have succeeded in implementing their programs.

While there is a plethora of information available via the Teacher’s Guide, I would welcome communicating with others, hearing about their successes, whether they used BioBliz or some other format and more importantly about what worked, what didn’t and potential pitfalls to avoid. I greatly appreciate any and all constructive replies.

Chris

4 Likes

Welcome to the forum! Just noting that I changed your post to be in the “Educators” category.

4 Likes

Thank you. I’m new to using the forum

1 Like

I’m not a teacher, but look at one of students’ programm, one advice I have is spent some time (days/classes, the longer the better) teaching what iNat is first, without students observing, it will result in better quality of observations and will be easier for participants to make them, starting with observing results in many mistakes that are hard to edit if you don’t know the platform and also will likely result in a more negative experience for students, also avoiding set number of observations/species to make is a way to avoid students posting photos from the web, etc.

11 Likes

Thank you for your thoughtful input Marina. It is appreciated.

1 Like