TIME SENSITIVE: What's going on with my butterfly? Is this normal?

I found a Historis odius larva, it pupated, and the butterfly hatched today. It dried it’s wings properly and then flew to a nearby indoor plant. Now it opened it’s wings and doesn’t want to close them. I thought it needed sun so I put it near the window. It basked for hours but still doesn’t want to close its wings. I wonder what’s going on here, is it releasing pheromones or something like that? Or should it keep basking? Should I release it now or till tomorrow?

It even keeps wings open when feeding, I just gave her some pineapple and it still has wings open.

Is this normal?? Could the flight muscles be damaged or something? I would really thank any explanation, I raise butterflies for hobby, not because I’m an expert lepidopterist, so I’m still ignorant in some aspects.

Update: IT STILL HASN’T CLOSED ITS WINGSSSS, and he’s still drinking that pineapple.

Update: I already sent the bug to sleep, and he’s sleeping with open wingssss!!! He hasn’t closed them yet!!! I’m starting to worry if this is something more serious! :anguished:

Update: The bug is sleeping now, but still with open wings!!

Update: I just released the butterfly.

7 Likes