Wasp rescue. Now what?

(Edited)
I found a hibernating queen yellowjacket on a log someone was going to burn, so I rescued it and put it in a container in my fridge.
Now what? How can I ensure her survival?

Is it a queen? There is no point preserving a worker or a drone.

Anyway, I see little point rescuing such common insects. I found a yellowjacket hidden in my boot last weekend and it still perodically hurts.

I see no point in not rescuing it. Workers and drones don’t hibernate and I think it’s a queen because it looks like a queen, not a worker or a drone. (I’m no expert but I’m pretty sure)
Shake your boots out before putting them on.

These wasps are my favorite pesticide. Very effective at keeping caterpillars down to reasonable levels.

2 Likes

I know little about wasps, but your fridge is not the environment she’s adapted to, so I’d say wait until the outside temperature is about the same and then put her back out in a protected place similar to where you found her.

4 Likes

She’s in the fridge because she is hibernating and I need to keep her from waking up. I want to put her back outside, but I can’t just throw her out and expect her to live.

I found her on a log that was about to be burned in a fireplace.
returning her is not an option. I don’t know where the log was harvested.

The real question is how to return her to the wild so that she has a chance of survival and doesn’t wake up until the right season

basically I’m still not sure how or where

I recommend first making sure it is not in a part of the fridge that gets below freezing where it will die (parts of my fridge get icy) secondly uploading a picture to iNat where experts will identify it to make sure it is not an invasive species (post a link to the obs and I’ll ID it within the day) and then if it is not an invasive put it in a similar position to how you found it on a log in the woods (or whatever the local natural space is, I don’t know if you are in a forested biome)