What do you use to acquire GPS data?

I recently had to delete another GPS focused app from my phone due to horrendous inaccuracies. Thinking about buying a tracker in the near future but I am curious what other observers use to assist in location data gathering.

2 Likes

I have been using GPS Logger by BasicAirData for several years now on Android phones. Pretty reliable and accurate.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=eu.basicairdata.graziano.gpslogger

1 Like

Thanks. I’ll give it a shot.

1 Like

Either a Garmin 62s or Google satellite. iNat uses Google, so you’re guaranteed to get it right with a distinctive feature; the Garmin has options to relate to the dozen-odd different reference systems used around Ontario Canada.

2 Likes

I’m not sure I understand the problem. I just use the exif data on my phone’s photo files, and I take a photo (of anything, or of nothing) with my phone whenever I take photos with my non-GPS camera. Out of the hundreds of photos from that phone that I’ve posted, I’ve only really noticed a couple of them being noticeably off. It definitely helps if you have it under regular battery usage- the phone stops keeping such good track of GPS data if you turn the battery saver on (at least on my version of Android), so the accuracy really plummets.

I also like to track the path that I’ve walked, and for that I use Geo Tracker. As far as I can tell it’s very accurate, unless your phone is in battery saver mode.

1 Like

Phones do usually record GPS data into photos. But those of us who mainly shoot with an SLR or Point & Shoot camera usually don’t have GPS in camera. Its a lot easier to sync a GPS track than taking a few photos along the way with my phone (which I used to do). I thought that was the case with the original poster. Looking at their observations though, it is a phone.