Backyard ponds and mosquitos

I live in Oklahoma, where mosquitoes tend to be a problem for 3/4 of the year. I’m thinking about installing a small backyard pond for the wildlife, but am worried about attracting mosquitoes. Has anybody here successfully pulled off a water feature in a warm environment that doesn’t create a disease hazard without the use of constant chlorination? If so, what’s your secret?

Thanks!

1 Like

I’m no pond expert but I suggest adding some native fish that eat mosquito larvae, and if it is clean enough many other aquatic insects that feed on mosquitoes will come to your pond. If the pond ecosystem is healthy enough, mosquito populations wouldn’t be a problem.

Anyway let’s wait for someone else to enlighten us more.

5 Likes

Not an expert beyond just having one, so take what I say with a pinch of salt, especially since I live in the Great Lakes region of the US, which may be colder climate-wise than what you’re dealing with.

I think mosquitoes have less of a chance to really breed with a pond if there’s something that is moving the water around, like a bubbler, waterfall feature, etc. It’s shallow, stagnant water that they breed in, not water with a consistent current. Besides, if your pond attracts wildlife that like to eat mosquitos (ie frogs), you may find that if any do result, they’re overshadowed by the predators that like semi-aquatic environments.

I will say that the one time I did see mosquito larvae was a small fountain on a pillar growing up that was in direct sun. The water was constantly warm, it had no plants (aside from algae we had to scrub out), and the only wildlife that visited were birds.

6 Likes