Common and scientific names

Before staring I’d like to let you all know that I don’t know if this topic was already discussed :wink:.
I’d like to know whether learning scientific names is better than common names or both because I’ve noticed that when I talk about animals and I use common names (I’m not a professional or anything and that’s why I don’t really remember them), and if the other person is from another part of the world, they may not understand what animal I’m talking about.

So, I’d like to know if learning scientific names is a good idea. What are your thoughts?

4 Likes

I think it’s always a good idea if you’re interested in biology. You’re right that people from different parts of the world don’t necessarily know your local common names. Some species also don’t have common names in certain languages and/or on iNat, so it might help with identification.

2 Likes

There is a related thread here: Scientific name Vs. Common name?

I think both common names and scientific names have their uses. Common Names are generally easier to remember and are likely more meaningful when communicating with a general audience. However, common names are not global and often the same common name can apply to multiple (sometimes many) unrelated species. I work as a research coordinator and I coordinate ~50 biologists across the eastern U.S. For birds, we use common names because North America has standardized common names for birds. However, we use scientific names for plants because 50 biologists may have 20 different common names for the same plant.

13 Likes

I personally try to avoid using common names where possible as they are to inaccurate and cause too much confusion for my liking, I do however pick up common names just as a part of working with the species.

2 Likes