How does the observers ranking work?

Hello there, Im new to the app. When I click explore then on observers it has a list of people and they seem to be ranked by number of observations. I made 6 observations yesterday but it still shows me at 0 on the list. Also I clicked on few other peoples names who are at 0 observations on the rank list but they have hundreds or even over a thousand observations yet they’re at 0.

I’m just confused on how the ranking system works and what the purpose of it is?

1 Like

Hi @keishalong, welcome to the forum and iNaturalist generally! Can you share a screenshot of what you’re seeing?

2 Likes

welcome to the forum.

i assume you’re looking at something similar to the below screenshot in the Android app, which shows the Observers tab on the Explore screen for all observations in Nanaimo, BC.:

in this screenshot above, the app’s Explore page appears to allow you to see observers beyond the 500th, with all observers beyond the top 500 having an observation count = 0. (in this case, you show up at #501, with 0 observations.) but what i think is actually going on is that once you go past 500, the app is showing you the same observers repeated from the top 500, but in a different order. (so that’s a little bit of a bug.)

you can see what i mean if you scroll further up the list… you’ll see yourself listed again in that list (at #271, with 10 observations, in the screenshot below):

(in other words, don’t trust anything shown on that screen beyond the top 500.)

if you compare the website version of the same screen (https://www.inaturalist.org/observations?place_id=27532&subview=table&view=observers), you’ll see that you would not even be able to see observers beyond the top 500. and it also shows you at listed around the same spot (#283), with 10 observations – so it’s consistent with the first 500 results shown in the app: