Is It Possible to Classify the Tardigrade From Star Trek: Discovery?

(“Star Trek Tardigrade Figure (Ripper).” Eaglemoss, https://shop.eaglemoss.com/us/hero-collector/star-trek/star-trek-tardigrade-figure-ripper. Accessed 28 January 2021). Unfortunately, the webpage no longer works. It seems that this page was taken down from the website.

Regardless of whether or not one likes DIS, it was interesting to see a giant Tardigrade. This fact got me interested in learning a bit more about Tardigrades; for instance, Tardigrades are distantly related to Trilobites, Hallucinogenia, Anomalocaris, and other Dinocarids. I also had no idea that there were armored Tardigrades, or the class Heterotardigrada. When I looked at “Ripper” from DIS, it definitely has armor, so it could be placed in the class Heterotardigrada. However, I cannot place “Ripper” beyond this point; I am not an expert on Tardigrades. I appreciate any and all comments in advance.

2 Likes

In Season 1 they show an X-ray and it clearly has an endoskeleton:

So it’s no tardigrade in our Earth sense, it’s a many-legged vertebrate!

7 Likes

Ha! Then it must be completely independent convergent evolution of the tardigrade form. Perhaps given enough time, all life converges to look like a tardigrade (since it is clearly the apex of evolution).

6 Likes

Assuming that said endoskeleton is an extremely derived trait that evolved independently within the Tardigrade lineage, is it possible it would be distinct enough to represent a separate class altogether, or more likely to be a grouping within Heterotardigrada?

4 Likes

Interesting question. Stemming from this one, I wonder, has anybody tried to identify all animals used to create the Alien? I have identified one, so far.

2 Likes

Animalia is monophyletic, and since it’s not from Earth it’s clearly not an animal. Ditto with fungi and plants. It clearly doesn’t belong to either of the single-celled lineages, so it’s a brand new domain of life.