Organising observations

I am new to iNaturalist and forums in general. I have a few questions, not a specific topic so if this is the wrong place to ask I’m sorry but
I have spent so much time searching on line but obviously I’m not phrasing my questions correctly.
1.I have looked through tutorial lists but failed to find anything that linked to concise information or explanations on how to efficiently categorise my entries/observations in an easy and efficient way. If there a tool bar somewhere I have failed to find it?I have seen others use My Lists where their entries are neatly categorised. Is there something on the desktop version I have failed to notice?
2. Do/can observers chat to each other? Is there any real communication between observers via messages or does everyone keep to themselves unless they are participating in ‘projects’. I am unsure of the etiquette around commenting, engaging with others in my local area who I can see on maps.
Sometimes I simply want to share my enthusiasm for what others have found but am I right in thinking INat is serious science?
( I would have inserted a smiley but that didn’t work either) smile
Cheers for any help I may get

4 Likes

It depends on how you’re thinking of categorizing your observations. On the iNat website, if you’re logged in and click your “observations” tab, you’ll see a search bar across the top that offers “species” “location” and “filters”. If you click “filters”, then you can sort through your observations based on numerous traits (organism type, location, date seen, etc.).

You can also add tags to individual observations (I tag some of mine with the university class they’re associated with) and you can then click on the tags to pull up your observations that have them.