Question from a newbie - Can I use both iNaturalist and iRecord?

I’m a relative newcomer and amateur, but have become interested in a site local to me for which I’d like to record biodiversity to build the case against developers moving in. So I’m using iRecord so that findings are officially recorded with the statutory authories, but using iNaturalist to try and identify my findings first so I can accurately report them to iRecord. Does it matter that I’m using iNaturalist to id my findings, and then using iRecord to report them, thereby duplicating observations between the two systems?

Also a secondary question, I’m aware that identifiers spend time helping me, but would they find it annoying if I thanked them in the comments section?

3 Likes

I can’t answer the question about iRecord, but as a volume IDer I am mixed on "thank you"s. One every once in a while, or if I have added a comment or some particular expertise, a thank you is good. There are other cases where I get a bunch of notifications of generic "thank you"s - these don’t mean as much and are more just distractions.

So, from my own point of view, I would say if you have something specific to thank someone for, go for it! If you’re just typing “thanks”, especially if it is repeats for the same IDers, maybe just do one and then that’s good enough.

A great way to “thank” IDers is to pay it forward…by adding some IDs of your own to others’ observations! This helps everyone out and makes iNat a better place in general.

14 Likes

I’m not familiar at all with iRecord. What is it?

1 Like

https://www.brc.ac.uk/irecord/about

1 Like