Relationship between iNaturalist and iRecord

I have been recording UK observations for a couple of years using the iRecord system. I have now discovered iNaturalist, like it and am using it for my observations from outside the UK. My question is what to do about my existing (>2000) and future UK observations. Is there a mechanism to migrate between iRecord and iNaturalist (including images) like there is for Flickr? Were I to migrate would I need to wipe my iRecord records to prevent scientific compromise through duplicate data for any studies drawing data from both systems? If duplicates are OK is there any mechanism to propogate and synchronise new records entered in iRecord into iNaturalist or vice versa. Is there any communication/co-operation between the two projects?

7 Likes

Welcome to the forum @rkl! @tiwane or @inat_staff might be able to answer your questions.

1 Like

See here for ā€˜someā€™ info:

https://forums.nbn.org.uk/viewtopic.php?id=7470

and also see here:

https://forums.nbn.org.uk/viewtopic.php?id=7579

1 Like

Thanks. That clarifies the relationship and the way the information flows and makes it clear that I moving what I have built in iRecord to iNaturalist would not be a good idea. I also think that switching from iRecord to iNaturalist for future UK observations would create unnecessary work at the NBN end so I will continue using iRecord for UK observations.

2 Likes

For everyone elseā€™s reference, this looks like the definitive statement from iRecord:
https://www.brc.ac.uk/irecord/linking-inaturalist

2 Likes

IĀ“d love to know if any of these issues are resolvable at iNaturalists endā€¦
Are any of them issues that limit data flow in other countries that might be addressed any time soon?

At the very least point 5 sounds plausible to resolve at one end?!