Search observations using URLs by several conditions with an 'AND' operator instead of 'OR'

When I use the URL method to search for observations with two or more conditions in the annotation fields it yields results considering an ‘OR’ operator. But I’m interested in observations that meets several criteria at the same time. For example juvenile birds that are dead.
Here is an example: &term_id=1,17&term_value_id=8,19 for birds, I get either observations meeting one or the other criteria. How can I find juvenile birds that are dead? Thanks for any comments!

4 Likes

I’m not an expert at this, but I believe different criteria params do a logical ‘AND’. If they are a list, or the same criteria it is an implicit ‘OR’. I believe what’s happening here is that these two criteria are expected to be used together and so being treated as an ‘OR’. See:
https://forum.inaturalist.org/t/how-to-use-inaturalists-search-urls-wiki-part-2-of-2/18792

You may want to try using the exclusion criteria ( &without_term_id=) to eliminate the ones you don’t want. Logically that should work with an ‘OR’.

Lots more info on using URL params here:
https://forum.inaturalist.org/t/how-to-use-inaturalists-search-urls-wiki-part-1-of-2

Thank you so much @iorek for your reply. That was indeed a useful feature that I hadn’t notice. It has helped me for example to exclude adults birds (to narrow down the search to observations of juveniles), but unfortunately not all observations had this tag added. Still, if there were an “AND” operator, would be the best solution for this kind of search. Or could there be a workaround using the “without_term” parameters? Thanks!

1 Like