Canoeing or kayaking to observe nature

I’m getting a canoe this weekend (woohoo!). I’m fairly new to any sort of boating, just done a little kayaking in small lakes. I’m hoping to use this canoe to get to observe wildlife in new ways but…I’ve never done that before. Has anyone used kayaks or canoes to help in observing wildlife? Any tips on it? How do I keep my camera dry, how do I paddle without scaring stuff, what should I be aware of ? This is terra incognita for me :)

I’m kind of hoping to use it in a few particular areas where there’s a lot of emergent vegetation and stands of reeds to observe stuff from the water in that vegetation–should be good for natricine snakes and a variety of birds (Cleburne State Park in particular is one such area, if anyone’s familiar with it, Caddo Lake is another I’m interested in trying).

Just…any advice on this sort of thing?

10 Likes

Just went kayaking on a local river (Yellow River) for iNatting for the first time a couple days ago. It was pretty nice, but it was quite difficult at times to get close enough to the plants on the shore to take pictures of anything. I wouldn’t advise bringing a camera, but I’ve found that binoculars and a phone work just fine.

In the end I was only able to get 30 obs but found a few nice things https://www.inaturalist.org/observations?d1=2020-08-17&place_id=any&user_id=whimbrelbirder&verifiable=any

5 Likes

Find a friend or partner who likes paddling so you can take pictures while they steer :)

14 Likes

Been kayaking in the sea a few times, and managed to reach some secluded shorelines which had lots of marine critters to check out.

3 Likes