Chrome extension showing Computer Vision confidence

Any interest in a browser extension which translates the computer vision scores into a red-green scale? I slapped together a prototype today after reading this thread; here are some examples:

(Obviously) I am not a designer, but it does give a rough idea of what is possible with a purely client-side solution. If there’s interest, I’ll publish it and put the code on GitHub so others can help refine it.

10 Likes

What would be the thresholds for each color (is green 80% - 95%, or 70% to 95%)?

Does red sort of imply wrong so implicitly in our current visual lexicon that people don’t even consider the other suggestions (sometimes the right suggestion is further down the list)? I’d assumed that’s why explicit disagreement is an orange button instead of a red one, but I could be reading too much into that.

Would the colors be adjusted by the user for accessibility (r/g color blindness, etc)?

I’m not saying it’s a bad idea; these are just the first things that popped into my head when I looked at the pics (especially red = stop).

6 Likes

What would be the thresholds for each color (is green 80% - 95%, or 70% to 95%)?

It’s just the computer vision score, which is [0,100], scaled to [0,120] and used as the hue in HSL.

Does red sort of imply wrong so implicitly in our current visual lexicon that people don’t even consider the other suggestions (sometimes the right suggestion is further down the list)?

Red-green was just the first gradient that occurred to me. I don’t have an informed opinion about whether red in particular imparts a bias or, if so, whether that bias is relevant given that the extension would be opt-in.

Would the colors be adjusted by the user for accessibility (r/g color blindness, etc)?

This is a good point, and taken with your second one argues for a different color gradient, or at least a color-blindness mode.