Closed by moderator

I’m sorry, I’m new to using the forum. When a query I posted was closed by a moderator, but I had further questions, do I have to start all over again?
I’ve never had a query closed 12 minutes after posting.
Thanks

2 Likes

Feel free to send a direct message to @forum_moderators (which goes to all of us) or a specific moderator (see list) if there’s ever a question or concern about a closed topic.

Thank you for your prompt reply. I feel bad, I posted links to the observations I had a question about after being told to do so by someone who replied to my original query. Then the moderator said I should not have done so and closed the query. I deleted the links but feel like I’ve been chastised and shut out. Perhaps I don’t understand the protocols here, or perhaps I asked an inappropriate question? confused.

5 Likes

To help explain a bit, we try not to call out specific people’s unwanted/undesirable or inappropriate behavior here on the forum. We wouldn’t want someone to visit the forum and see themselves used as an example of something bad or as a talking point. This forum platform (Discourse) is a bit quirky - when you edit or delete a post, the content is actually still visible by everyone for 24 hours (unless a moderator/staff goes in and hides the revision). Depending on the situation, we may also unlist a topic or turn it into a direct message instead.

2 Likes

I agree, that is the kindest way to handle it. I prefer to handle matters directly without causing embarrassment to others. I just needed advice and appreciate that it was given in the moderators concluding comments. I will deal with my remaining question in another post or searching this forum.
Thank you.

2 Likes

I agree, this was completely unnecessary to close AND unlist so soon.

3 Likes