I can’t remember exactly how it looked before, but not like this! Is the “x” to delete a mistake new? I’m pretty sure I used to click on my own icon to cancel my annotation before, but now that takes me to my profile instead. The position of the “x” seems to be a bit random, being hidden behind other text most of the time.
If you could note which browser you’re using, and whether you’re on mobile or not, that would be helpful. I’m not seeing this in Firefox on my MacBook.