Encouraging a sense of scale in photos

My question relates to photographs of scat, specifically of bears. I’m a retired research scientist who studied American black bears for many years. Being fairly new to iNaturalist, I thought I could contribute by reviewing the many past observations that are only bear scat. The problem I’m having is that most photos don’t provide any suggestion of scale. For quite a few photos, I’m confident the scat is American black bear (location, apparent size, contents), but many could be confused with other species given lack of information on size. Is there a way to encourage people to add something for scale to their photos?

6 Likes

The getting started pages include a video tutorial called “How to Take Identifiable Photos”, but the three tips are: get closer, shoot multiple angles, and take photos that are sharp and in focus. Maybe the video could add “give a sense of scale” or something like that? I don’t know if @tiwane would be open to adding more to the video though, sometimes it’s better to keep it simple.

There’s also a discussion going on how to take photos of particular taxa, but I’m not sure how wide of an audience that’s reaching and scat isn’t exactly taxon specific.

I occasionally ID skeletal remains, and measurements are sometimes the only way to distinguish between similar taxa. On a case-by-case basis, I ask the observer to please try to include a scale in skeleton photos. Sometimes they still have access to the skeleton and can even go back and add photos. Sometimes you just have to accept that a species ID is impossible.

4 Likes

I don’t know what is the best way to ask people to do this, but I am all in favor of encouraging people to add a scale object in one of the photos they make for any observation where there is potential ambiguity about size.