Issues with conducting Projects

I’m not sure if this was already answered, but I am a new teacher and I want to create a Project so that my students can join and add their observations. Yet, when I create it they cannot add any of their observations too it, and I can’t either. I tried creating the project as both a collection project and even an umbrella project. Yet, nothing works. Hopefully someone can help me create a project for my students. Thank you

Sincerely,
D. DeBons

One doesn’t add observations to collection (or umbrella) projects. Those projects are essentially only search shortcuts - so you have to formulate inclusion criteria the way it suits you, and then all observations that meet these criteria will automatically be included in the project. No manual adding needed.

The manual adding was needed for traditional projects. You can still make them, but they are a bit hidden, and you should think about whether you really want to make a traditional project.

1 Like

This is where you decide which types of observations to include in your collection project:

1 Like

@debons23, I see you have recently joined iNaturalist and haven’t made any observations yourself yet. In order to create a Project, you’ll need to make 50 observations yourself, to get familiar with the system. That isn’t as hard as it sounds! Please read the guidelines for teachers at https://www.inaturalist.org/pages/teacher’s+guide, and the guidelines for projects at https://www.inaturalist.org/pages/managing-projects. Come back with more questions if you need to. If you give the name of your project, we can look at it and make suggestions, too.

4 Likes

While that’s true for traditional projects, you can make collection-style projects without any restrictions, e.g.: https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/trial-run

1 Like

Over the past year, I have been talking with my daughter, a junior high teacher, about how iNaturalist might be useful in the classroom.