New Curator with Questions

Hello, I’m a new curator and have a lot of questions about the process. I searched the forum first but didn’t get helpful results so apologies if this is all better explained elsewhere and I’m just not finding it (if so please redirect me). My name is Laura and I have been an editor on BugGuide for about 10 years. My focus is spiders (Araneae). I applied to be a curator to help with spider taxonomy here. I figure as long as I’m updating BugGuide’s spider taxonomy I might as well make the updates here as well while the information is still fresh in my mind rather than flagging everything here and hoping someone else will do it for me.

When adding a new taxon is it preferred for the source that I cite the World Spider Catalog, or the specific paper where the family/genus/species was described/updated, or both? Is it possible for me to leave more than one source when adding a taxon? When adding a new source I have a choice of links I could leave for the source material … I could leave a direct link to the source or I could leave a link to where the material is located on the World Spider Catalog. Although it feels more professional to leave the official link to the source the benefit to leaving the WSC link is that I know people can actually download the paper there for free. Is there a preference? I’d like to move a species to a new genus … I made the genus (did I do it right? https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/1404715-Emertongone) … to move the species do I use taxon swap somehow as things already are, or do I make another copy of the species under the new genus to swap it with so that the old name still exists as inactive or does that happen automatically… Thank you in advance for any clarification.

5 Likes

Hi Laura—great to have you join our curatorial team! Have you read through the curator guide? It covers some of the basics that might answer your questions.
https://www.inaturalist.org/pages/curator+guide