One time I almost deleted an observation photo. All you have to do to delete it is tap the garbage icon at the bottom of the photo. Can you add something to pop-up when you tap delete that might look something like this:
Are you sure you want to delete this observation photo? This action can’t be undone.
I think this would make iNaturalist better so users don’t delete photos by mistake.