Using iNaturalist in the classroom - The positive aspect

I use iNaturalist a lot and I love everything about it. Everyone around me knows about iNaturalist because it seems to enter into every conversation I have. I use it in a lot of ways but there is one way in which I use iNaturalist that is incredibly important to me but also makes me very nervous. I use iNaturalist in my classroom with my students.

I am a college professor at Austin Community College here in Austin, Texas and I use iNaturalist extensively in my BIOL 1407 (Structure and Function of Organisms) class (this is the equivalent of General Biology II). I generally teach 3 of these each semester and so I am handed around 70 brand new students each semester for which I attempt to train as iNaturalist users. I first started using it in late 2016 and I have used it every fall and spring semester since.

So why do I get nervous about it? I have read many threads on using iNaturalist in the classroom and have posted a few things myself but one thing is pretty clear to me and that is that there are a lot of people who don’t particularly like when iNaturalist is used in the classroom. Trust me, I get it. I understand why this is the case. I think it is captured best with the term “observations under duress”. You get bad observations, bad conduct by the students and an absence of the teacher. So from the very beginning I have known that I must be careful in how I present iNaturalist to my students and that I must be a steward of their observations. I feel I have done this and to me the results have been extremely positive. Therefore I wanted to share with you the results of my class this year and also provide you with all the materials I use in the classroom.